top of page

Another Amazing Modern Fairytale!


Ginger's Heart by Katy Regnery (Goodreads Author)

Christine Duane's review

May 15, 2016

really liked it

Read from May 03 to 15, 2016

Yet again I'll say how much I love a modern fairy tale! Katy Regnery is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors. I love her commitment to a love story not just a "slam, bam, thank you ma'am" story.

Ginger's Heart, inspired by Little Red Riding hood, is no exception. The love triangle between Ginger, Woodman and Wolfram is heartbreaking from start to finish. Ginger not only loves both men but the men love each other as well. Not in a romantic way but a true self-sacrificing bond that allows them to willingly give up their own happiness for the happiness of the other. Around these three are a wealth of family and friends. With time each relationship grows and evolves allowing Ginger and Wolfram specifically to build strong bonds and forgive the real and perceived transgressions of the past. I kept trying to guess how the "right" couple was going to end up together and I'll just say I never saw that resolution coming! Maybe I should have, but I wanted a happy ending for everyone. The only thing I had a hard time with was the writing style for the first half of the book. Each scene is told from each of the character's point's of view. While I enjoyed knowing what they were all thinking it made the story feel segmented and difficult to follow, at times I just wanted the it to move on. Looking back I can see how the author may have been using this to show just how far apart the characters were and as they form a relationship their individual tales become one story. Overall, I loved this book and highly recommend it to those whom love a real love story!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page