top of page

When the Book-Bug Bites


I never enjoyed reading until I had become an adult. I had a reading comprehension problem in high school and I preferred not to read unless I absolutely had no other choice. It's not like I had never read for pleasure, but I was very specific about what I chose to read...it had to be a first had account and about something that I could relate to otherwise I was not interested. If I had to reread the first page, then it was a dud and there was no way I was going to read the book. Then as I got older I had found that when things weren't going so well in my personal life that I discovered that reading helped me escape and cope with stuff in my life. For a very long time I would only read teen fiction. It was just enough angst, romance, mystery and adventure to spark my interest. I would read for a couple of months, then stop reading. This cycle has continued throughout my adult life sporadically and never last longer than a couple of months.

About 2 years ago, during my fertility treatments was when the book-bug bite me for the last time. I have been reading book after book after book. I can't seem to read fast enough and at first it was definitely to escape the pain, but now it has become such a big part of my life. I chosen to read instead of watch TV or many other meaningless things I had been using to occupy my free time.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page